NY: Westvillage – MOMA – Central Park

When we woke up on the last day of our fabulous New York trip, the sun was once again out and it looked like it hadn’t snowed all the much overnight. There was a little layer covering some sidewalks – lots were already cleared -, but other than that, we didn’t have any disadvantages of the evening/ night of snow. It was then that we once again realized how lucky we had been with the weather the past days.

For our last day, we had planned to visit The Museum of Modern Art But considering the museum only opened at 10:30 am – damn those museums and their late opening hours -, we first headed back to Soho and Westvillage – this time with a map! This way we were sure we had seen all the most beautiful spots over there as well. Ánd the building they’ve used for the outside shots of the famous series F.R.I.E.N.D.S. As a huge fan, that was something I had to have seen!

SONY DSC

After filling our tummies with some Dunkin’ donuts – Valentine’s edition  – we took the metro to 51st St. to go visit the Museum of Modern Art, also known as MOMA. As mentioned before, my dad and I aren’t all that into art, and modern art usually only makes us laugh because some things are just so ridiculous – no offense.

But the MOMA has much more to offer than only modern art. The two top floors are full of classic painting everyone knows. From Van Gogh, to Mondiaan, to Picasso. It’s all there, and most definitely worth your time. We spend most of our time on those top floors and just quickly walked through the more recent art.

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

To finish our trip in New York, we walked back to Central Park to have a last view on the skyline of New York from the Wolman Rink. With the fresh snow, it once again looked really idyllic and I wish I never had to leave that beautiful place. (And aren’t those little squirrels the cuttest ever!)

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

It was with a feeling of total sadness that we stepped into the taxi – once again a minivan, this time arranged by the hotel – to the airport to go back home. So many people had already told me how wonderful New York is, but it’s only until you’ve actually been there that you can truly understand it. The atmosphere, the people, the breathtaking skyline,… It’s all so amazing and makes sure there is never a dull moment. I’m so, so, so grateful that I got to visit this vibrant city and I really hope that one day I’ll be able to go back.

But I guess there is still so much more out in the world to see so I honestly don’t know if I’ll ever really set foot in New York again. Anyway, it’s definitely a city you must visit at least once in your life, and I’m delirious that I can scratch that off my bucket list.

And as we drove from Brussels Airport back home (in rainy Belgian weather), my dad and I listened to this song on repeat. REM couldn’t have been more right.

Until next time,

With love, Ellen

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

