BELGIUM: Hiking in Heuvelland

Why always go far when there is plenty of beauty closeby? That’s why whenever the weather is nice, I’d like to discover more of my own region. A couple of weeks ago, we had such a beautiful Sunday, so my parents and I headed for Heuvelland (meaning Hill Country in Dutch), a municipality in West-Flanders, Belgium.

This region is mostly known for the hills – obviously -, such as the Kemmelberg, Monteberg, Rode berg en Zwarte berg. It’s one of our favorite places to go for a nice stroll.

Usually we just walk at random as my father knows the area quite well, but last time we did one of the walking tours that is pointed out; Kemmelberg walking route. This tour is 9,4 kilometers long and guides you along the most beautiful places around the Kemmelberg and the Monteberg. You also end up on the highest point of West-Flanders, which isn’t impressive at all, but I felt the need to mention it. Here are a few of my pictures I took (with my iphone) last time I went there.

When you’re looking for a nice stop along the way, I really recommend De Hollemeesch. They have an amazing terrace with a breathtaking view and reasonable prices. Their pancakes are heavenly.

2015-09-20 16.08.16

So if you’re in the neighborhood and the weather is pleasant, this walking route is definitely worth your time.

Until next time,

With love, Ellen

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

