So long 2016, hello 2017!

In many areas, 2016 was a year to be forgotten as soon as possible. Terrorism, icons in music and film industry taking their last journey and other sad, horrible news often headlined the newpapers and online media. It isn’t exactly a year to look back on with glee in that department.

But not all was bad. (Thank god!) For me, travelling wise, 2016 was a year I’ll never forget. I can look back on so many new experiences and I was fortunate enough to finally scratch off the number one on my travel bucket list.

Roadtripping the South-West of the USA has been my dream ever since I started travelling and I finally got to see all those sights I had been admiring pictures of for so long. It really was all I had expected it to be and so much more.

gg

And then there was also Cuba. Oh how this country has left its impression on me. The warm-hearted people, the beautiful colonial cities and most of all the stunning nature. It’ll stay with me forever and I’m happy I got to see it before it got too swamped with tourists.

dsc_09600

Returning to Berlin was something I had been trying to achieve for a long time and finally I was able to accomplish it last year. I fell even more in love with this amazing diverse and cultural city. If there was one place I’d like to live, I guess Berlin would be it.

dsc_0187

But so far 2017 is definitely looking promising as well. To start the year with a bang, I’m heading to London again in a couple of days with a few of my friends. London doesn’t really have many secrets anymore as I’ve already been many times, but I do hope to be able to see and discover some new things.

And then there’s my big trip for 2017; Vietnam. This will be my first time ever in Asia, plus my first time really backpacking. In three weeks we hope to see as much of the country as possible. We have sort of set an itinirary, but apart from one domestic flight nothing is set in stone. It’s going to be quite the adventure and I can’t wait to embark on this journey! They say you either love or hate Asia, so I’m very curious to see what will apply to me. I’m very much hoping for the first one because it would be a total bummer to have to leave all the delicious Asian food untouched.

Those are the trips that are definitely happening, but I do hope to also go on a citytrip with just me, myself and I sometime next year. And hopefully we’ll get the Erasmus study reunion going as well, so all in all so much to look forward to the coming year. I simply can’t wait to tell you all about it!

As for you all; I wish you the best for the coming year! May it be filled with joy, happiness, laughter, friends, family, love and many new experiences! But most of all; many travels!

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

